POSTER 22 Lyceum 24x36
2022 Competition


Project for The Friesenhahn Cave Site

Program author and past Lyceum Fellowship winner, Murray Legge, challenges students to create a solution to this intriguing site.

2022 Competition Overview


The project is sited on the Friesenhahn Cave site outside of San Antonio which is owned and managed by Concordia University in Austin, Texas. The cave is one of the most important paleontological sites in the United States. Homotherium serum or Scimitar Tooth Cats lived in the cave more than 15,000 years ago and used it as their den. The cave's original formation, with its descending entry ramp leading deep into the earth, made an ideal home for the Ice Age cats. This 20,000 year old single room den is located on an approximately four acre site, situated in the midst of the suburban sprawl of San Antonio. The impressive feline remains originally found in the cave are in the Texas Memorial Museum on the University of Texas Campus.

Competition Program and Themes

The program introduces a number of overlapping themes or ideas to consider. The primary task is to create a boundary and threshold between the buildable portion of the protected historic cave area. Conceptually it is a boundary between the "present day suburban condition" and the interior protected cave or "deep time" of the Pleistocene epoch (ice age). This is both a literal and conceptual boundary experience. Consider the experience of going back in time 20,000 years or so.


Murray Legge, FAIA

Murray Legge Architecture, Austin, TX
Program Author / Jury Chair

Peter N. Vincent, FAIA

Peter Vincent Architects, Honolulu, HI
Lyceum Fellowship, Director

Dr. Jennifer Hofmann

Associate Professor
Concordia University/Texas

Kenneth Francis, ASLA, PLA

Owner + Principal-in-Charge
Surroundings Studio

Nichole Wiedemann, AIA

Associate Professor
University of Texas at Austin

2022 Winners

9832 Langston Dailey 1
1st Prize

Langston Dailey

University of Tennessee

Ted Shelton

9954 Devon Rowley 1
2nd Prize

Devon Rowley

Marywood University

Richard Leonori, AIA

9860 Isabel Vineyard 1
3rd Prize

Isabel Vineyard

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Rhett Russo
Assistant Professor/Undergraduate Chair

JM cover
Jon McKee Prize

Joy Mullappally

University of Cincinnati

Andrew Tetrault
Instructor - Adjunct

9927 Byron Armacost 1

Byron Armacost

University of Cincinnati

Terry Boling
BArch. Professor

9891 Noemie Ouellet 1

Noemie Ouellet

Laval University

Michael Robert Doyle
Assistant Professor

9915 Nicolas Stetkevych 1

Nicolas Stetkevych

University of Cincinnati

Terry Boling
BArch. Professor

9981 Brandon Hing 1

Brandon Hing

University of Southern California

Mario Cipresso
Adjunct Associate Professor

9955 David Rodriguez 1

David Rodriguez

Tulane University

Ammar Eloeuini

9894 Yishu Yu 1

Yishu Yu

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Rhett Russo
Assistant Professor/Undergraduate Chair