Jon Mckee Aia

About Lyceum Fellowship

Through a unique structure of designcompetition, jury process, and prizewinningtravel grants, the Lyceum promotescollaboration, connectivity, and a designdialogue among schools, their students ofarchitecture and the prominent architectswho serve as program authors and jurors.

Lyceum Founder

Jon McKee, AIA

Architect, Philanthropist andFounding Partner of Symmes Maini& McKee Associates (SMMA).

Born and raised in Montpelier, Vermont, Jongraduated from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institutewith a Bachelors of Architecture in 1949. He joinedSMMA founding partners Bill Maini and ParkerSymmes in 1958, and requested that the firm beestablished as a A/E rather than E/A, to emphasizethe primary need for high-design quality from anintegrated firm. His approach always focused onraising the level of design excellence at SMMA andwas evidenced throughout his professional careerbeginning with his initial involvement with designingall the buildings for the firm.

As SMMA grew to become one of the largest designfirms in the region during the 1960s and 1970s, McKeewas responsible for selecting new designers whoshowed a high degree of creativity and innovationwhile establishing a Design Review Board internallyto critique and challenge the firm's design solutions.

Board of Directors

Board Commitee

Participating Schools to Date

  • Arizona State University
  • Auburn University
  • California College of the Arts
  • City College of New York
  • Clemson University
  • Cornell University
  • Georgia Institute of Technology
  • McGill University
  • Miami University (Ohio)
  • Moscow Architectural Institute
  • North Carolina State University
  • Oklahoma State University
  • Pennsylvania College of Technology
  • Penn State University
  • Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Rhode Island School of Design
  • Savannah College of Art and Design
  • Southern California Institute of Architecture
  • Temple University
  • Texas A&M
  • The Boston Architectural College
  • The Cooper Union
  • Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México
  • University of Arizona
  • University of Arkansas
  • University of California Berkeley
  • University of Cincinnati
  • University of Hawaii at Manoa
  • University of Illinois at Chicago
  • University of Miami
  • University of Michigan
  • University of Minnesota
  • University of Nebraska Lincoln
  • University of Oklahoma
  • University of Oregon
  • University of Tennessee Knoxville
  • University of Texas – Austin
  • Washington University
  • Wentworth Institute of Technology
  • Woodbury University