POSTER FINAL Revised 012921 new deadline
2021 Competition

Reimagining the Visitor Experience - The Ames Estate

2021 SUBMISSION DEADLINE AND JURY DATE EXTENDED- In an effort to give students the maximum amount of time to develop a solution, the Board of Directors has extended the deadline to Friday, May 28, 2021, 11:59pm EST. Refer to the 2021 Program Brief for more information.

2021 Jury To Be Held Virtually - The Board of Directors has opted to hold the 2021 Jury virtually. Therefore, all students will only be required to submit a digital (pdf) version of their entry. Physical booklets are not required. All other rules and eligibility requirements apply. Refer to the 2021 Program Brief for more information.

COVID-19 Considerations - Due to current travel restrictions related to the COVID-19 Pandemic, the Lyceum recognizes travel abroad may be delayed, reduced or unsafe. During this time of limited travel, we are offering winners the opportunity to present the Lyceum Board of Directors a proposal on how you might use the grant to advance the profession of architecture and enrich your educational experience in a way that is consistent with the Lyceum mission. Refer to the 2021 Program Brief for more information.

Download Program Brief Apply Now

2021 Competition Overview

When founded in 1891 by landscape architect Charles Eliot, The Trustees of Reservations (The Trustees) name was much better understood. The term “reservation” was used by Eliot to describe his own notion of "park-making." Unlike Frederick Law Olmsted, whose approach to designing parks was to start from scratch, Eliot favored selecting natural or cultural landscapes that had inherent beauty and interest and then improve, preserve, and open them to the public. The Trustees of Reservations is the first private, nonprofit conservation organization of its kind in the country.

Governor Ames Estate lies in the center of the tightly developed village of North Easton, Massachusetts. It is adjacent to regional populations from the surrounding communities of over 320,000 people. The town recently has moved to create a cultural district to create a cohesive approach to marketing all it has to offer and creating opportunities for partnerships across many of the organizations. The cultural district is the Easton Shovel Town Cultural District and seeks to connect visitors to town landmarks, private businesses, and cultural initiatives.

The estate house site itself holds a prominent position in the landscape, which had been carefully chosen and manipulated in design by Governor Ames. It still captures one of the best vantage points on the property, with views down to both the Fish Pond and Shovelshop Pond and well positioned to capture the summer breeze.

Students are to design a 1,500 square foot event pavilion near or within the Estate House footprint to have a unique relationship with the designed landscape that can enhance the visitor experience and provide a platform for community, family gatherings and celebrations inviting new and regular visitors to the Ames Estate.

A nearby stone carriage house built in the style of the original mansion is to remain and may be considered as usable for the pavilion support program elements. Foundation ruins of the 1897 greenhouse and conservatory complex are to be reimagined as part of the program.

Submission Deadline: May 14, 2021


Mark Hutker, FAIA

Hutker Architects
Director / Lyceum Fellowship

Stephen Stimson, FASLA

Stephen Stimson Associates
Landscape Architects

Molly Moore

Associate, Director of Marketing
Miller Dyer Spears
Committee Member / Lyceum Fellowship


1st Place


3 months travel

2nd Place


2 months travel

3rd Place


1 month travel